“It has been said that astronomy is a humbling and character-building experience. There is perhaps no better demonstration of the folly of human conceits than this distant image of our tiny world.

To me, it underscores our responsibility to deal more kindly with one another, and to preserve and cherish the pale blue dot, the only home we’ve ever known.”

Carl Sagan


Our Vision

The South Texas Astronomical Society (STARS) provides a platform for connecting communities in the Rio Grande Valley to the benefits of science and space exploration that improve quality of life.

Our Mission

To provide space science education and advocacy through community outreach programs in the Rio Grande Valley.

We ignite curiosity through exploration of the universe.

Our Core Values


We stimulate lifelong interest in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) across all age groups and encourage the pursuit of careers in these fields.


We foster genuine connections through shared experiences and appreciation for space exploration, and strive to ensure that local residents are a part of the growing space ecosystem in South Texas.


We connect local businesses and institutions to resources and opportunities that inspire positive change in our community.


We provide hands-on educational experiences and educator training to help improve science literacy with an emphasis on families in underserved, low-income communities.


We aspire to make science, space exploration, and the resources relevant to these disciplines accessible to residents across boundaries, including age, cultural background, and socioeconomic status.

Board of Directors

Victor de los Santos
Executive Director
marija jette
Debbie Cox
Board Secretary

Richard Camuccio
PhD Physics Student
Astrophysicist in Residence
Brina Martinez
PhD Aerospace Engineering Student
Texas A&M University
Screen Shot 2020-06-16 at 10.55.14 AM
Nurith Galonsky
City of Brownsville
City Commissioner - District 1
Moises Gomez, CPA
Certified Public Accountant
Gomez, Fragoso & Associates, P.C.

Advisory Board

Carol Lutsinger
NASA Solar System Ambassador
STARS Founder
Timothy Barry
International Planetarium Society
Dr. Mario Diaz
Professor, UTRGV
Director, CGWA & CTMO
Kathryn Youker
Public Attorney
Director, Economic Justice Project

Our Partners